With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Recently, with the booming health care technology, the community has to be concerned for the more elderly population. The debate on whether society is able to cope with the increasing number of elderly people has been a concern. In my perspective, the public has the capacity to handle this problem. To begin with, people have more responsibility for taking care of the elderly nowadays. Due to globalisation, more job opportunities are being provided, people can gain higher wages which gives them a higher ability to take responsibility for their parents. This can reduce the burden on the nursing houses and fiscal deficit. Moreover, as people have more income, they can hire people or import some high tech machines to look after the senior. For example, some exercise’s machines can improve elderly mussels or toys which keep them in good mood. Therefore, as a result of the globalisation in today community, the ability for the public to take responsibility for the seniors has increased and is more able to handle this problem. On the contrary, the ageing problem may be a concern. Take Hong Kong as an example, the working population has been reduced due to the increasing number of retired people which give a sharp drop in labour supply. This may reduce the government tax revenue as fewer people are fell into the tax net. As a result, the government may have pressure on subsided the elderly such as paying them allowance or spending money on building up the retirement house. Therefore, society may have shortage in taking care of the elderly or have trouble with providing help. Nevertheless, the fiscal budget of one's government is uncertain and the amount of money put on elderly programs may also depend on the willingness. The USA has fiscal deficit for years but it still put a lot of effort into the elderly process. Moreover, the burgeoning technology may also reduce the cost of investment in senior programs. Overall, in my opinion, society today is stronger and richer and has more capacity and ability to cope with the increase in the number of elderly people. Moreover, the government can encourage and give allowance to those who look after their parents on their own to reduce the social burden.