Some people say that advertising is extremely succesful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered that advertising is a good marketing tool in attracting customers to buy the goods being promoted. However, others claimed that this method is too redundant to a point that people would not notice about them. In my opinion, advertisement can be effective if they are created while taking into account their target consumers’ preferences, while it might not work if the promotions are designed without clearly defined objectives. Often, advertisements work because they promote stuff that people already have the intention to buy. To make it clear, marketers target and promote to the right customers. With the help of current technology, internet browsers or apps can even trace the customers ’ wants (by their search history), hence it makes things easier for businesses to reach out to their potential buyers. For example, if you want to buy a traditional dress for your upcoming Eid celebration, you will search for them online. The next thing you know, all advertisements from shops selling the dresses start to pop out in your Instagram, Facebook or even Google. This method works because people already want to buy one and promotions give them one last push before they make the purchase. On the other hand, some advertisements do not work because they are too plain and boring to a point that people would not notice the items that the marketers are trying to promote. Some promotional items use the same kind of design every time. The reason being is that they do not put enough creativity to change their designs, commercials, and whatnot, to give a hook to the viewers so that they want to at least look at the items being promoted. For example, if a company keeps on promoting 100 items using one same design template, it will not catch people ’s attention and the promotional effort will just go into waste. In my opinion, advertisements will only be successful if the marketers know who their target customers are, study the behaviours and interests these customers exhibit and create promotional materials that will hit the right note with their specific audience. If none of these are being carefully done, the promotions will just become meaningless. In conclusion, not all advertisements are effective to get people buy the stuff. But with thoughtful curated promotional items specifically to target relevant customers, advertisements can be a very good investment to companies