In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

There is a tremendously controversial notion heating up a debate over the purchase of imported food and domestic food. This essay is devoted to analyzing the reasons why an increasing number of people have a tendency to shop foreign goods rather than local food with some governor’s equivalent measures to promote sales of local produce. Without a shadow of a doubt, there is a wealth of reasons why foreign food has become more widely-used. However, the key root is that a large number of customers believe food imported from other countries has higher quality compared to local one.. This is not only because its standard must be followed strictly from factories and government in oversea but also due to the involvement of cutting-edge machinery in manufacturing. For instance, with the same Milo milk of Nestle, many parents are likely to select milk which is made in Australia instead of milk made in Vietnam since they believe this might be better and more nutritious for their children. Thus, buying imported food brings a wealth of merits for consumers. Despite the fact that people tend to buy foreign foodstuffs more, the government should adopt effective remedies to promote customers to purchase domestic one. One of the most useful actions is that the state can cash more in the agriculture of the country to amend the quality of food and ensure the safety of civilians. In addition, an increase in imported food taxes, as well as discounts on farming products, can be applied to raise the encouragement of customers. For instance, in the market, some sellers swindle money out of the public, which leads to a decrease in consumption of local food. To sum up, more and more people prefer choosing imported food instead of domestic goods due to a wealth of classifications. However, governors can solve this issue by legal rules.