Many people believe that music is just a form of entertainment, whilst others believe that music has a much larger impact on society today. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whereas many critics downplay the importance of music, others still believe that music plays a crucial role in society. In my opinion, I agree with the latter as musical piece provides both tangible and intangible benefits for the public. Some critics argue that music is nothing more than entertainment because the current music industry focuses more on producing songs that are pleasing for the ears rather than touching the heart of the audience. Korean Pop music, for example, songs are mass-produced with a common set piece of fast rhythm and tempo, lyrics centre on love. Furthermore, the aim of these songs is to be catchy to the listeners, whether the piece make any sense to the listeners or not is not the main concern of the composers. However, I believe that the prevalence of shoddy pop musical opus should not be a reason to denigrate the significance of music. First, many carefully crafted classic musical pieces could still resonate with the crowd. For instance, in classical pieces like Moonlight Sonata, the ups and downs of the musical piece nicely reflect the emotion of the character, making it easier for the crowd to relate to the character. On top of that, the music industry is also a key contributor to economic growth. The hosting of musical festivals in a country helps to draw international crowds which provide substantial benefits to other industries like tourism and hospitability. In conclusion, although the standard of music composition has declined over the years, there are still many masterpieces that have profound benefits to society, all-time classics like Moonlight Sonata continues to be an indispensable part of many films. On top of that, the vitality of the music industry also acts as a catalyst for domestic economic growth.