Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been recent calls for mandatory tests for cyclists before they are permitted on public motorways. In my opinion, though this proposal must be managed properly it is advisable. Detractors argue this reform is essentially a complex method of fixing a problem that does not exist. Riding a bike is a fairly simple skill that most people learn as children. It is unclear at what age such a test and license should be logistically required. The extra paperwork and bureaucracy would make it a negative for both cyclists and those charged with enforcing this law. If passed, there is also the strong likelihood that it would be tokenistic. Cyclists might be able to pass a basic written test and demonstrate the ability to ride a bike but that would not ensure they will actually be safe riders. However, in my opinion, there exists a need since most cyclists are not particularly cognizant of the hierarchy of vehicles. In most cities, cyclists are considered a menace or an annoyance and increase the odds of accidents. Many cyclists feel they are essentially the same as cars and weave into traffic where cars and motorbikes travelling at faster speeds rightly belong. If there was better education and a law that required cyclists to learn unwritten rules of etiquette, this would greatly enhance road conditions for motorists and pedestrians. For instance, in certain European nations, cyclists must apply for licenses and this has created a culture where bicycles fit into the flow of traffic more seamlessly. In conclusion, although there are significant practical hurdles, I believe requiring cyclists to apply for licenses addresses a key public road issue. Governments should therefore enact this or similar regulation.