It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people argue that allocating public money to promote a healthy lifestyle is more vital than spending it on treating people who are already ill.I think both perspectives are equally important. This essay will present both perspectives. On the one hand, allocating public expenditure on promotion of a healthy lifestyle can effectively help more people, compared to only treating those people who are already sick. There are various methods through which the government can promote healthy living, such as disseminating educational videos on social networking platforms, hosting health events in medical centers or hospitals, and playing public service announcements on TV stations. Irrefutably, these various approaches or mediums can reach a large number of people. Through these promotional activities, people can become increasingly aware of the importance of healthy habits and get opportunities to learn how to develop such a lifestyle, thus benefitting from government investment. In contrast, investing in the treatment of sick people only offers benefits to a limited segment of population – those who are sick On the other hand, spending public money on curing people who get sick should also be a high priority. First and foremost, the treatment of some diseases is so expensive that an average family may not be able to afford it. Without financial support from governments, these families will be forced to give up their loved ones after exhausting all their savings. It is supporting these sick individuals with public money that creates a humane and moral atmosphere in society. Additionally, some diseases are not preventable, such as multiple categories of cancers and illnesses or defects that children have when they are born. As a result, public awareness campaigns of healthy habits will not be helpful for these types of diseases. In conclusion, I believe investing in the promotion of a healthy lifestyle to be of equal importance as spending public money on the treatment of people who are already sick. Emphasizing only one perspective would oversimplify the complicated reality and lead to overlooking the other side.