In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centre or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the current era, more and more customers choose to shop in supermarkets than in small shops. Unfortunately, this will lead to shut down several numbers of small shops leading to increased national wide unemployment. Furthermore, the community going to pay unnessoryly high level of money for common consumable items.Since then, I believe this development will negatively affect the citizens of the country. To begin with, when we consider these big supermalls, they attract people in several ways like TV commercials, big discounts and card offers. Unfortunately, small shop owners, cannot do this with their limited budget. Ultimately, more and more customers will go to these large shops and small shop owners will supper. Furthermore, they will have to close their shops and may need to find another job to survive. For instance, a survey done in American universities has found, about 60% of small shops around America shut down during the last decade due to the development of a new shopping mall. At the same time, the development of this new culture has affected the general public badly. Unfortunately, when more and more people shop in these supercenterscentres, they invariably spend a large amount of money, without their knowledge. For example, recent research done at the University of Colombo has shown, people tend to spend more than they need when they shop in shopping malls rather than in ordinary small shops. In conclusion, people around the globe are attracted more to the supermarkets than the small shops available in local arias. because of this, more and more people will lose their jobs and the expenditure of the general public will invariably increase. therefore, I believe that the development of this supermarket culture will lead to more and more negative effects on society than the positive effects.