The older generations tend to have traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the older generations mostly adhere to the traditional values which are not inconsistent with younger generations. While I agree that some traditional ideas are old-fashioned, I believe that some of them are still beneficial to young people's lifestyles. On the one hand, many ideas that older people still find unavoidable are no longer accepted by younger people. For instance, in the past, people believed in bringing up a boy or a girl to become a breadwinner and a good housewife. Moreover, they were encouraged to choose a career and find a stable job for life. However, these beliefs are not appliable for the contemporary age where people believe in gender equality. In addition, young adults nowadays select their profession, life partner and decide when to marry, which contracts the old view. On the other hand, some traditional viewpoints are still useful that people at a young age should foster. For example, in today's world, young adults have to communicate or work with different people from a huge variety of backgrounds and it is essential to treat others with respect and good manners. Ancestors strongly believe in the importance of being honest, polite and working hard. These characteristics need to be passed to the new generation because they may be helpful to establish a better family, social life, cultural bonding, and work environment. I also believe that teenagers would be happier if they had our forefathers' sense of community. In conclusion, although old ideas seem to be incompatible with younger generations, not all views should be dismissed as irrelevant.