In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering form health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In many countries around the world a significant number of the population are suffering from illnesses that are associated with consuming fast food, therefore it is fundamental for governments to increase taxes for this sort of food. My essay totally agrees with this statement because doing this, will encourage citizens to eat less unhealthy food and chose to eat healthier instead To begin with, one of the reasons that people buy fast food is that it is cheap. Normally people with low income find it convenient to feed themselves and their families with food that does not cost too much. For example, it is widely known that many people who are obese and suffer from diabetes and heart diseases are citizens that consume a lot of fast food. Thus, governments should increase the taxes so the citizens might opt for healthy food instead. Secondly, if fast- food tax is to be increased it might discourage many citizens from buying it. That means that fruits and vegetables would cost relatively the same as ready meals which are available in the shops. For instance, since the tax for fizzy drinks increased, people choose water instead of a coca-cola or any other fizzy drink that they normally would go for. In conclusion, I believe that it is imperative for the governments to increase the tax for fast feed which is responsible for many diseases. If that is done so, It is likely that many would opt for healthy options instead.