Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by other sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whereas some critics concur that the state should offer monetary support for creative artists, others argue that practitioners should seek alternatives. In my opinion, I agree with the latter, artists should have varied sources of funding. Some critics argue that it is the state's responsibility to offer financial aid for creative artists as the vitality of the art industry helps to create a more vibrant and liveable place for the residents. For example, when individuals walk on the street, they could be mesmerised by the beauty of different styles of architecture and listen to different genres of music that are composed by talented musicians. Since all of these caters to the non-material needs of the dwellers, the state ought to support the creative artists financially. However, others argue that designers and musicians should look for an alternate source of sponsorship because the authority is constantly preoccupied with more pressing and tangible matters like poverty. Hence, it is a norm for governors to neglect the development of the art sector. This is especially true for developing countries like India, the bulk of the government's budget is allocated to the economic and military sector, only a meagre amount is left for the art sector. On top of that, too much government involvement in the creative artwork may suffocate creativity. If governments are the sole benefactor, they will be in control of art creation. It becomes easier for the government to coerce creators to follow their guidelines, otherwise, their funds will be cut off. Therefore, moderation becomes unavoidable and it goes against the nature of art, the freedom of expression. In conclusion, although governments are responsible to provide financial help for creators, they are usually bothered by other urgent issues, and it is advisable for creative art practitioners to find financial assistance from other places to preserve the integrity of art creation.