Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that bridging the gap among nations is the main purpose of the Olympic games, while others assume that the money spent on holding them should be utilized for other primary problems. This essay attempts to discuss both views and provide this writer’s perspective, meaning crucial issues need to be prioritized to be handled first. To begin with, connecting people from all the regions in the world is important when the Olympics are organized. It is valid because the Olympics is where the representatives of countries gather in one place in order to compete with each other for the victories. Moreover, throughout the Olympics’ duration, those sportspersons are required to stay in the same dormitory, regardless of their nationalities, leading to the fact that everyone all have chance to communicate with ones from other nations. Having conversations with other people will not only foster a sense of human bonds but also diplomatic relations among governments. For instance, an increasing number of agreements are being made after the Olympic games. However, the writer strongly believes that the budget used for holding the Olympics is essential for dealing with important concerns, such as the lack of healthcare services in rural regions. It is acknowledged that the officials only distribute the positions of hospitals and pharmacies in the metropolises due to the high demands for better health conditions in dwellers, ignoring that residents from remote areas also need these healthcare facilities when they get ill. In addition, it results in the circumstance that if they have problems with their health, they have to commute for a long distance, tens of kilometres, in order to reach the nearest dispensary. This sparse allocation of hospitals resorts to the worsening state or even morality. For example, more than 100 mountainous and minority patients died on the way to the health centres. In conclusion, despite the benefit of narrowing countries’ relations in organizing the Olympic games, this author still thinks that money used for them is such a waste as it can be spent on alleviating the worries about how healthcare amenities are allocated in remote places.