Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, a debate on whether teachers should give school children homework. Some people consider that homework is a necessity for students whereas some people think homework shouldn’t be given to children. In my opinion, schoolwork can be given to students moderately. To begin with, homework can help students perform better in school. As the aim of homework is to test the understanding of new taught knowledge, giving the work to students can check whether they have the ability to handle it well or not. Teachers, as well as children themselves, children themselves can find out their strengths and weaknesses by having the test, then pay more effort on the areas where they are not good at and stabilise the good part. As a result, children can have a clear mind about the lessons and improve themselves in the right domains. On the contrary, some people expressed strong opposition to this point and think too much homework is a kind of burden to children and they are losing free time for other extracurricular activities. As children already spend a lot of time in school, weekends or off- school time should be arranged for other events such as cultivating sport or art ability and taking some time with family. Stressing students around tests and work may give too much burden. However, a moderately can help children with time management as they can learn how to manage their time well or how to prioritise work. It can also train students to be more efficient. This skill will not only benefit them in school but also at work or in life generally. To conclude, I believe homework plays an important role in school student’s education as it can not only improve their study but also teach them time management skills. Although excess work may depress students, a rational reduction in the amount of work can definitely benefit children more.