In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays significant information is readily accessible via the internet compared to the old days when they are being published in books. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. This essay shall discuss both sides and I shall see forth my own perspective. On the one hand, the traditional way of gaining wisdom is through the use of printed materials that are available either in the bookstore or market. By reading so, a person's awareness is enhanced not only with current events but with the history as well, depending on the book chosen. First and foremost, those who are not adapted to using high-tech appliances such as computers would be in favour of using books as resources. Secondly, books and magazines are free of viruses that are detrimental to data, if not prevented, they can cause glitches and cyber attacks. Thirdly, the author's name is more emphasized and acknowledged because it was written just below the title or on the first page. Therefore, reading paper-based is beneficial to the readers as well as to publishing companies. On the other hand, everything is possible now because of the accessibility of using websites that provides unlimited education to individuals. Not only does it connect people of different races but it also transmits updated information around the world. Moreover, one can easily gain pieces of information through surfing the web. Furthermore, travellers do not have to worry about carrying heavy items during their trip since records and other relevant materials can be downloaded and stored on mobile phones. Thus, knowledge uploaded on the internet is advantageous compared to the physical one. To conclude, print-outs and World Wide Web sources have both advantages and disadvantages depending on the purpose and the age of the reader. However, surfing the internet or using electronic books outweighs its disadvantages since it is more convenient and cost-effective.