Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

It is debatable whether or not children's participation in activities that are enjoyable for them will lead to the development of better skills and more creativity, as opposed to simply reading. I'm a firm believer that while it can be true with regards to skills, in order to fully flourish a child's creativity it should not completely replace the latter. This essay will discuss how both types of activities can have positive results in terms of skills and creativity and why reading is superior. Participating in fun and engaging activities brings motivation and excitement to children, creating a great environment for hands-on and guided discovery learning of different skills. For example, drawing papers carefully taped to a wall by a parent, or messy clay molding sessions with friends can lead to great motor skills while avoiding anxiety. Another example is when adults carefully observe and guide a child to cook a simple meal, giving them confidence while teaching them to cook. On the other hand, most aspects of creativity can only be achieved through reading a variety of books. One example of creativity is storytelling about a world that does not exist. Exposure to these types of abstract topics is only possible through reading fantasy books such as Harry Potter, or Hunger Games. Another aspect of creativity is open-mindedness and being able to understand different perspectives and opinions. While this ability can somewhat be nurtured through human interactions, for a child it will only be limited to those around them. Whereas, reading provides exposure to a wider range of opinions, situations and topics. In conclusion, I strongly believe while fun hands-on activities can create a better learning environment, what one can learn from them is limited to their surroundings. Conversely, reading provides a wider range of topics for a child to discover, giving it superiority over the other.