Some company sponsors sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think that it is good, while others think there are disavantages to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, many firms are approaching new strategies for advertising purposes such as sponsoring sports events to increase their sales. Although some people think that this is a good idea, others believe that there are disadvantages. In my opinion, sponsorship can bring both benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, sponsorships not only promote the companies but also contribute to supporting success. For example, sports teams are able to obtain a number of free resources from sponsors and they do not have to worry about financial problems. Simultaneously, when players are wearing linked companies' products, it can bring a lot of opportunities for those businesses to expose their products on the market or social media platforms and their sales can be increased. This is obviously much faster than traditional advertisements on TV. On the other hand, gaining any benefits from firms has its drawbacks that cannot be underestimated. From a sportsman's perspective, they may rely too much on sponsorship which can be withdrawn one day. If this happens, players are at financial risk that they won't be able to focus on their skills improvements or competitions. From a social point of view, the behaviour of sportsmen is a decisive factor in shaping children's personalities. For instance, if a player uses drugs or has misbehaved, it will have negative consequences for both enterprises that sponsor them and society. As for sponsor companies, they may cost a huge amount of money to advertise although their aim is to make profits from this. In conclusion, notwithstanding sponsorship could harm the sports players and community in some aspects, I still think that people cannot deny its great contributions.