These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

The traditional belief that men are breadwinners while women should take responsibility for chores and up bring offspring is no longer true in the modern era. In many places, this convention has gone in a reverse way and an increasing number of women work outside and men stay at home. There are several reasons for this and I personally think that it is a negative trend. With the changes in social belief, more parents send their daughters for higher studies instead of preparing them for getting married and this enhances the capable and educated female workforce. In many fields, for example, telemarketing, teaching, fashion design, and banking, women are doing better than men and this has created a demand for female employees in the job market. The equal rights movement has had a great impact on empowering ladies and this has become quite normal for mothers to perform at offices while the fathers decide to stay at home to take care of their children. This decision is often based on mutual understanding of the couples and the one who has the higher earning potential decides to support the increasing expenses of the family. This has been socially accepted in most of the developed countries though some developing countries in Asia are yet to completely accept this trend. However, according to me, this brings negative development to society. Young humans at a growing age need more love and affection, which they can get from by mothers. Mothers have that natural instinct to provide comfort. Fathers, how much ever they try, cannot put the values that a mother can incorporate into a child. Hence, this affects the upbringing of the heir. Furthermore, fathers cannot cope with both household tasks and look after the kids. On the other hand, ladies are said to be multitaskers. To summarise, I do not want to say that females should not get employed at all, but of course, not at the cost of nurturing their kids. There are females who do part-time jobs and look after the family as well. Nevertheless, in my view, this trend should not be continued as it has more drawbacks and brings negativity.