In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Everyone is familiar with the proverb "Hard work pays", but there should be a limit to the effort one puts in achieving something. Children are taught in some cultures that, they can ace any goal if they try enough. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of providing this message to children, post that my personal opinion will be present. To begin with, the advantage of giving this statement to children is that, they set their high goal and starts working towards it. Such as, the Oxford university student poll report says that a maximum of the students wanted to study in this university and they worked toward getting admission in it since childhood. Furthermore, giving this message to children boost their confidence in achieving their own dream. For example, in the TV9 interview, the Olympic javelin throw winner Niraj Sharma says that when he had thrown the javelin in the final round, he turned back and even before it touches the ground, he started celebrating because in practice days he use to through more than 180 meters and looking into the other contestant score he was confident that his win fixed. Consequently, this statement provides a belief in achievement and self-confidence, which is the biggest advantage in anyone's life. Nevertheless, there are some disadvantages attached to this. Firstly, children can build overconfidence and couldn't see their own capabilities. For instance, the Indian government survey on unemployment stated that many goals are lucrative and children get fascinated towards them very easily and spoil their precious time of life putting effort towards it without any result. Secondly, parents put lots of pressure with these kinds of statements on their children to achieve unrealistic goals. To illustrate, the NASDAQ survey data says that most of the engineers never liked to be one but due to their parents desire they were in this job. Finally, a goal without understanding a child true capability could lead to disappointment instead of achievement. To summarise, although the above-presented disadvantages weigh a lot, advantages provide greater results. In my opinion, child capabilities should be examined properly first and then only goals should be set and then these types of statements should be given to motivate them.