In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partners discuss and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, arranged marriage is still found in some countries, notably in South Asia. The bride and groom are primarily selected by senior family members, generally the parents, following a traditional belief. In contrast, due to freedom of choice, people in many other parts of the world, especially in the west can make their own decision to marry their lover. Personally, I disagree with arranged weddings owing to the high possibility of later marriage failure. In South Asia, this kind of wedding has been practised for a long time ago. This remains common in some countries such as India, Bangladesh and Pakistan these days. In Pakistan, most people believe that wedding is one of the most important family events and is not a personal responsibility but the whole clan. Consequently, family leaders are always in charge of arranging the most suitable partner for their children to ensure that this bond will value the family the most. Likewise, the wedding couples also feel that it is their duty to make their clan proud. On the contrary, most westerners have different perspectives. They believe that individuals should have the right to choose. Nobody can force them to do anything that they find unpleasant, which includes freedom of partner selection. Additionally, things such as nationality, religion, or even gender are not a big matter as long as they feel comfortable. In my opinion, marrying an unfamiliar person is a high risk as same as gambling since we know nothing about them. Settling down with someone means raising your own family. It is not just building a house to live in but also building a home to love so I believe that we should marry someone we love without obligations. On top of that, the parents should play a role as supporters instead of decision-makers since it is their children future so their life partner should not be chosen by others but themselves. In conclusion, a marriage arranged by family seniors remains available in many south Asian countries owing to an old tradition. However, it is not very common for western people since freedom of choice is practised here. From my point of view, I do not agree with getting married to someone matched by parents because it may end up with divorce.