Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is a common view that the main goal for university graduates is to learn applicable knowledge and abilities for their eventual career. At the same time, however, others argue that institutions of higher education should primarily focus on academic curriculum. In this essay, I will review both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, there is no doubt that universities should help their graduates to be prepared for the emplyoment, and providing job-related expertise is a good way to achieve that goal. When students know how to work efficiently, they will have a better chance to make a living, get a promotion and have a prosperous career opportunities. Moreover, as companies have more skilled workers who can boost their productivity, they will get better profits which could be used to fund educational institutions, thereby cultivating a more professional workforce working for them. Consequently, this approach creates what can be described as a triple-win situation for the academy, its graduates and corporations. On the other hand, knowledge itself is also the foundation of any practical subject. For example, if a doctor didn’t study theoretical knowledge such as biology or chemistry, he could hardly understand pharmacology comprehensively, which possibly leads to a less effective treatment plan while counselling patients. Furthermore, some university students who want to become scholars or professors in a certain field will benefit from a pure knowledge-based curriculum, and it deepens their understanding of specific academic subjects. Admittedly, however, these aspiring academics are often few and far between.   To summarise, there is no doubt that post-secondary institutions should value knowledge-based learning because it is the basis of academia. At the same time, job-related competencies also play important roles, as most graduates’ aspirations are to become useful and qualified workers or professionals. In the final analysis, therefore, one can conclude that the college should design the syllabus covering both pure-knowledge and work-related skills.