Some feel that it is a waste of time to plan for the future and it is more important to focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Everybody needs to have a constructive attitude toward the philosophy and the meaning of life. One of the major perspectives regarding this is whether to have a long term plan or just live the moment. I disagree with the people who support the idea that planning for the future is unnecessary and concentrating on the present is more essential, because I believe that both present and future are essential to living a healthy, happy life. On the one hand, focusing on current circumstances and activities brings about some benefits such as peace of mind and relief from strains. In other words, every individual should assign a reasonable amount of time to enjoy their present life, by spending time with kith and kin or enjoying doing what internally satisfies them. There is mounting evidence that plenty of people who develop a tough plan for their future, give up after a while and decide to downsize their life just to seize the day because they had not considered the importance of the present at first. On the other hand, living and working without making wishes and planning to achieve them probably leads to a boring, meaningless life. For instance, if people follow some daily routine for a long period of time, they will become frustrated and lose their enthusiasm to keep repeating those activities. Thus, designing a comprehensive, realistic plan for the future with specific steps, goals and objectives would be a helpful approach to lead a happy, interesting life. To conclude, I reckon that both present and future are equally of the essence and it is wrong to prefer one over the other. It is much better to either stop the heavy, unbearable plans to relieve the tensions or initiate moderate, reasonable future plans.