There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather tahan a large family. What are some of the advantages and disadvntages of having a small family rather than a large family?

Traditions and customs are in a state of flux nowadays. It seems as younger couples prefer to have fewer children. This essay will explain what I consider to be the main benefits and drawbacks of having smaller families. There are several key benefits stemming from having one or two children. The most obvious one is being freer in a financial context. The opportunities that parents are obligated to provide their children, such as a qualified education or a high-nutrition diet, require money. If parents have fewer children, it will be much easier to afford these kinds of things and undoubtedly, there will be more facilities for kids. Furthermore, more children simply mean more responsibility, which can be overwhelming for individuals in our modern world due to the increased working hours. Such couples will be probably intolerant to their children and won't have enough time to pay proper attention to each child they need. Despite these positives, there are potential disadvantages of having a small family. From parents ' point of view, there is a risk that they can find themselves alone when they get older. One child or two siblings may not be enough to look after them. After all, taking care of elderly people may be a heavy burden to carry for only one person. In my country, such couples will often end up in nursing homes. In addition to this practical problem, some people consider that these youngsters grow up spoiled and entitled rather than benefitting from parents ' attention as mentioned above. In conclusion, having a small family can be beneficial financially and mentally. However, parents should also be careful about not leading their children to be selfish. whether this is positive or not depends on the individual.