A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the trend for lookism has increased. Nowadays people tend to judge everyone not for their personality but for their appearance and status. I totally agree with this statement. This essay will analyze this phenomenon and provide relevant examples from my own experience. Back in the old days, people appreciated values, such as kindness, honour and bravery. Back then people were more interested in the inner world of the individuals rather than their appearance. As a result of that, the love they experienced was filled with true feelings and passion for each other. For example, many popular romance books were written in the past, because they could truly describe the feeling of love. However, in today's fast-paced world, a person's worth is judged by how much money they have and how beautiful they are. This phenomenon is called Lookism. Nowadays people are more interested in the material possessions of individuals than their inner world. Because of that, there are many cases of domestic violence in the current world. Individuals choose their partners not for how good their connection is but for how much money they have and how famous they are. For example, recent research has revealed that over the past few years, the incidence of domestic violence has increased. In 2001, the percentage of domestic abuse cases was 9%, whereas currently it is 21%. In conclusion, I believe that today's values are distorted versions of the old ones, and that we should start loving each other not for our possessions, but for our personalities—just like in the old days.