An increasing number of larger shopping areas, malls and department stores are leading to the decline of smaller corner shops. what are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping in larger shopping centers rather than smaller, more traditional shops?

Recently, shopping malls have been growing all over the place, either in capital cities or small towns. The reason behind this phenomenon is that huge department stores could be an all-in place for shopping, eating, and playing. Meanwhile, the price there is adverse for low-income families. Huge shopping areas offer many attractions in one place, such as games, shops, restaurants, pop-up stores, and prayer rooms. These complete solutions are very convenient for customers to stroll around while having fun with their families. Moreover, the tenants vary from luxury to affordable products. While the adults are shopping, the kids can have fun in the playground. Then, after all of them get tired of shopping, they could eat different types of cuisine from Chinese, Western, and local foods. In contrast, the tiny outlet only sells a limited type of products with no other activity other than buying goods. Malls can be enjoyed by a range of ages and genders, which is why it is so popular lately. The downside of a shopping mall is the expensive prices. In a developing country, shopping malls tend to be filled by middle to high-income people, rarely by the low. The low-income families prefer to spend their money in small shops because it only contains a specific product so they will not pay for unimportant things because of desire. This means that in malls, people are tempted to buy unnecessary products because of the displays and discounts. This kind of place really boosts people to be consumptive. For instance, if we initially just want to secure clothes, we unconsciously will purchase snacks and beverages as we walk around. In conclusion, as an all-in-one shopping spot, huge malls are very favourable for people with higher wages. However, it will enhance the people's consumption rate. This behaviour is less likely to happen in tiny corner shops that are mostly loved by low-wage people.