Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is a fact that the many outlet stores prefer selling of imported stuff rather than local ones. This essay will discuss some of the causes of this disturbing trend and examine the possible consequences of the same. There are myriad causes for this. The foremost reason for this is improved transportation facilities. Due to this, required food items are easily available in a low time. If any store manager in ASIA demands the junk food from west mainly from Europe, then within 2-3 days order will be reached to his store by air. The second reason for this is masses changed their eating habits over the last few years. Many people in India nowadays opt for American food items like pasta, burgers and a few more. A recent case study reveals that best transport and changed preferences stand out as the major factors for this. The effect of this trend have been and continue to be very serious. The prominent impact of this is, it lowers the local economy. As a store decide to order foreign foodstuffs subsequently this action affects the economy as local food items are not getting any market for a sale. The next reason for this seems worst as it plummets the job vacancies. By doing this action, employment opportunities in that area significantly go down, additionally, there are not any indications that monetary conditions will be improved in the upcoming time. Recently one research in India concluded that by ordering the imported foodstuff many times, economy and employment opportunities lower to a deep point than ever. To conclude, improved transport mediums and altered preferences of pupils closely stand out as the primary reasons for this. Society must ensure steps are taken to prevent this problem from deteriorating further.