In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the modern era, with the development of society, the ageing population has become a widespread concern in some countries and it will lead to bad implications. In the next following paragraphs, I will discuss the disadvantages of this issue with the reasons behind this. One of the major challenges of the growing population of elderly people is that it puts a strain on the government coffer. The government ought to spend a larger budget for healthcare services and pensions in lieu of allocating money for technology and infrastructure development. This issue can cause not only overcrowding in healthcare and public services but also reduce welfare in one country. Another problem facing the proliferation of the elderly population is that the proportion of citizens of working age will decline. There are a host of companies as well as industries that have trouble finding a workforce. Additionally, the young generation, who are considered to be the main contributor to the economy, have to spend more time taking care of their elderly parents and the concentration time on work will be reduced vastly. Therefore, this problem has an adverse bearing on the economy when the difference between higher pension spending and lower tax revenues can seriously affect public funds. For example, Japan, which is one of the developed countries, is experiencing an ageing population. The serious shortage of human resources in some occupations such as engineers and workers has forced them to import labor from other countries. The Japanese government must introduce policies to encourage increased birth rates and support immigrants who work and pay taxes for them to ensure economic growth. In conclusion, in my opinion, the drawbacks of the elderly population are undeniable. The government should take timely policies to prevent this issue and encourage their residents to raise birth rates.