Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Elderly people are often advised to exercise routinely by health care providers, however, many ageing patients couldn’t keep up with their workout schedule. Boredom might be the number one reason for this laziness. By introducing social elements into routine tasks, we could help more individuals to stick with their exercise schedule. First of all, we need to identify the root causes that usually break up an exercise routine. The answers are boredom and resistance. Achievement rarely is given for free and that applies to exercise also. Great health and a body in shape don’t come overnight, these are the results of hard work and determination over a period of time. Alot of us get beaten down by resistance and laziness everyday, our failure is a reminder that we need to stand up and keep fighting the mental battle and the physical challenges at all time. In addition to boredom stopping us from following our workout routine, most people often overestimate their effort in this challenge. An English University conducted a study on a particular exercise activity on all ages, points out that 70% of people participated in the survey thought that they had excersiced enough while in reality the data such as the amount of time they exercised, scientifically proves otherwise. In order to promote effective exercise plan we could learn about the patient’s interests and let them choose their favorite activities. This flexibility in activities is how we could help them fight boredom. For example: Many old people that I have met love it when I show them my E-bikes, I always reccomment them to get one so they can freely bike anywhere, how ever long they want and on any kind of terrances, this is such a fun way to exercise and people would be engaged more. Beside that, we are social creatures and any exercise activities that attended by groups could enhance not only our health but also our mental state in a positive way. For example, an aerobic teacher in my town always hold an exercise party in the park every Saturday and Sunday, this event has drawn a large group of people from young to old to exercise out door, it is fun and it keeps people engaged with eachother. In conclusion, the number one problem with elderly people not follow through with their excersice routine is boredom. By coming up with a flexible plan, one can work on their favorite type exercises can help prolong their interest in the activity. On top of that, adding social aspect into exercise is also effective as we are social creatures and like to do things together.