Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behavior both on and off the field has a negative influence. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether non-amateur sportspeople inspire the young generation as positive role models or not. While the harmful behaviour of several sportspeople contributes to the negative outlook that affects the youths, I believe that having someone to strive for and being encouraged to do more exercise is good for youngsters. First and foremost, an athlete can encourage young people to set a goal and strive for that. To explain, when a sports player wins a competition it gives the young a sense of excitement and also have ambition to achieve the goal set. Take Manchester United as a prime example here, which is a soccer team that has a tremendous contribution to nearly 60 per cent of their adorers to become soccer players or to try this kind of sport. Furthermore, the team's motivation and dedication also promote the psychology inner person such as bravery and self-assuredness. Nevertheless, some sportspeople's poor attitudes negatively direct youngsters. This is because young people who have intellectual curiosity tend to mimic others' acts regardless of negativity. Some athletes' appearance and manners can be misleading and inexperienced individuals can not realize that. They are right to a certain extent, but youngsters need to have more awareness when setting athletes as role models, otherwise, they will become people who have worsened characteristics. According to my opinion, the youths can improve their physical health through admiring a sportsperson. For instance, Steph Curry, a basketball legend, shows a strong passion for basketball and this has energized many people, especially the youth, to embrace the value of doing exercises. As a result, people will be more excited about sports and become healthier through this. Thus, this essay has shown that the main factors that sportspeople impact on the young generation are being promoted to strive and being encouraged to have a healthier lifestyle. However, the youths need to pay more cognitive thinking when setting someone as a role model.