Is mental strength important for success or is it more important to be strong and fit for success in sport.? Discuss both views and give your opinion

The factors contributing to performance in sport are continually being investigated by sports scientists and athletes. While some people would argue that a person’s physical strength determines their level of performance in sport, I believe that mental conditioning is also a highly important factor. On the one hand,some people believe that physical strength plays a major role in their performance in sport. Firstly, sports require strong muscular strength and high level of coordination.In fact,in some extreme sports, being able to run fast, lift or throw something very heavy is one of the main aspects of sports. To illustrate,basketball players have to run full court within 30 minutes per game on average and throw as many shots as they can. Secondly, athletes with good physical conditions can heal quickly after injuries. Without strong legs,no competitors can participate at a high level in sports competitions. Weightlifting athletes, for example, always care about their legs, because legs are a ubiquitous muscle to lift extremely heavyweights. On the other hand,I would side with those people who believe that a high level of strength and fitness is not the only factor that allows athletes to win their games. In fact, some professional athletes in particular need to have the determination and focus on training and performing for many years. Certainly, being able to focus and concentrate whilst under pressure during competition is really essential. In addition, some sports players need to stay calm and overcome countless injuries in their long career that they may face. Therefore, without good mental health, they may lose their careers due to self-harm when they fight against depression. For instance,Durant,a famous basketball player,after being injured for a year due to Achilles injury, with strong mental health, he can come back stronger and play harder than before. To conclude,physical strength plays an indispensable role,but strong mental health decides how successful the players are in the future.