More and more couples are deciding to be "child-free", to have no children, in other words. Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reasons. While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives, such as concern about overpopulation and desire for independence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an increasing trend in terms of couples opting not to have children in recent years. While some individuals believe that the decision is selfish, a sizeable group thinks that they come to this conclusion considering other factors, such as an increase in population or becoming liberal. I believe that the couples are seeking financial independence and security. This essay will discuss both sides and provide further details to substantiate my view. To commence with, being child-free offers financial stability to an individual. It is undeniable that the cost of child-rearing, including education and,healthcare is huge and people are not ready to give up their expenses and have offspring. Consequently, they agree mutually to be without any offspring and spend their life focusing on themselves. For instance, if a couple intends to live a luxurious life without having to worry about the anticipated expenses associated with giving birth to a child, they can opt not to give birth to a child. On the contrary, there are a few individuals who take these decisions considering a greater cause. In India, for example, the population is immense and having offspring will only worsen the situation. As a result, they dedicate their life towards society by sponsoring underprivileged children or funding a few NGOs, resulting in the overall progress of the country. However, there are negative impacts of being child-free like lack of emotional support in old age and anxiety and depression caused due to loneliness. In conclusion, although the motives appear noble and the objectives seem rewarding, In my view, the parents should consider having a child as they would need capital as well as emotional assistance from their children when they grow older.