Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Social networking seems to be fashionable among communities of all ages, even though sharing some vital information on these platforms could give rise to unfavourable circumstances. However, social networking has some positive factors like chances to know other nations' cultures and opportunities to share information with others. Hence, this writer believes that the advantages of social media will be far away from its disadvantages. On one hand, some people share their vital personal information, with these social networks without thinking of its dangers. Unfortunately, some information like date of birth, contact details, information about family and the favourite political party could be misused by some people or organisations leading to unnecessary troubles for the account holder. For example, some people try to contact these account holders for various purposes like promoting business. However, most social networks like Facebook, guarantee that the personal information of their customers will not share with third parties. On the other hand, social networking is a golden platform to build a relationship with other communities. Furthermore, it has given chance to people to share their thoughts and information with others and opportunities to learn the cultures of others. For instance, a recent survey conducted by one of the leading professors in Sri Lanka have said, communities have built a bond with each other due to social networking and compared to the last decade, people are living much happier mostly due to this social networking. In conclusion, although it can give rise to some bad effects, social networking seems to be popular in all ages of the communities and, it gives more positive things like flatform to share their thoughts and information with each other. Since these factors, this writer believes that compare to its disadvantages, the advantages of social media will be far away.