Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is a serious problem across the globe and all countries are trying to deal with this pressing issue. Some sections of society believe that prison sentences for a longer duration can help to reduce crime, whilst others disagree and argue that there are better ways to solve this. In my opinion, some alternative ways such as educating people, giving them resources to earn and providing them with a direction are far more beneficial than elongated jail. There are a number of people who think that offenders should be punished with long prison sentences because this phenomenon can invoke fear in a criminal's mind. In other words, if a person is already aware of the intensity of punishment before committing any illegal activity, it will discourage them from becoming a criminal. For example, some countries have a law that the murderer usually gets lifetime prison sentences, resulting in making people think twice before doing any serious offence. Hence, imposing strict policies deters people from doing an unlawful acts. However, I believe that there are certainly better ways to encounter this situation such as introducing skill-based training during their tenure of imprisonment. It can help to motivate them to be part of the mainstream in the future. As an add-on, counselling can also improve their conflict and anger management and it would definitely help them deal with real-life concerns in an amicable manner. In conclusion, longer prison terms certainly instil fear in the minds of the potential lawbreakers and discourage them from committing crimes. However, empowering them with skills and a positive attitude towards life can surely prove vital for the community.