In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Some countries are experiencing a situation in which their citizens are gaining weight and their public wellness is declining. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and secondly suggest some measures to improve public health. The two major causes of weight gain and decreasing health standards, in my opinion, are high-caloric dietary habits and physical inactivity. Regarding the former, modern food habits often include processed ingredients that contain an unhealthy amount of saturated fats and carbohydrates. A frequent intake of these substances can increase the risk of morbid obesity, thereby leading to other knock-on effects, notably cardiovascular diseases. Another reason is that the prevalence of labor-saving inventions has promoted physically inactive lifestyles. In the US, for example, a substantial proportion of the overweight and obese population would rather rely on electric scooters than just simply walk despite the insignificant travel distances. To tackle the situation, concerted efforts from both individuals and governments are necessary. Firstly, each of us must refrain from succumbing to the modern non-organic junk foods often marketed as last -minute meals. Instead, fresh home-grown vegetables and fruits should be widely encouraged, perhaps by health documentaries on mainstream TV channels. Concerning sports-related activities, local communities should promote and support physical activity programs, backed by government funding. Vietnam, for instance, has successfully implemented free-of-charge outdoor fitness equipment and provided public dance lessons in most local parks across the country. In conclusion, the general level of health and physical fitness have been suffering a perpetual decline caused by the two most prominent causes, sedentary lifestyles and excessive consumption of processed foods. Nevertheless, government-supported programs and individual efforts would prevent these problems from deteriorating further.