Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

The world today is more connected than ever owing to globalization. With the ease of access to intercontinental travel or cooperation, many students are choosing to study abroad. Even though they bring many benefits for themselves and the countries involved, there are also some drawbacks at the same time. Firstly, it brings economic advantages to countries abroad. For instance, there may be a lot of things to support the students who have to live in the host countries. It may carry out economic activities, such as living places, daily necessities and different kinds of expenditures there. This benefits the local areas’ economy. For students themselves, studying abroad provides them with the subjects that they want. Such as, studying to be a vet is tough in Hong Kong because the resources provided are insufficient. Students who want to become a vet in the future have to study in foreign countries. On the other hand, international scholars may cause some adverse consequences for the countries involved. An increasing number of international students means there may be a huge competition for domestic students in terms of degree relatively. Generally, the majority of scholars may decide to stay in the host countries after graduating. The home countries will then lose highly educated talents for certain sectors. For example, high technology. This might affect the development of the fields in the long term. In conclusion, studying abroad may bring advantages to students and countries like boosting economic and academic development. However, it may cause loss of talents as well as field expansion. Overall, the benefits of international students do not outweigh their drawbacks.