Some think individuals should support themselves after retirment, while others believe the government should be responsible for providing them providing them with financial assistance. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some believe governments should provide retired citizens with financial aid, others are of the opinion that retirees should make provisions for themselves. Although retired folks providing for themselves promotes a culture of hard effort in public. I believe that governments should provide pensions because it is an egalitarian system. Retirees should provide for their own economic situations because this encourages a hard-working society. This is to say, if society knows they will receive no help from the authorities after evacuation, they are more likely to effort longer hours and take extra jobs to make enough cash to fund living in comfort when they are old. For instance, the USA, whose citizens are renowned for their job ethic, spend relatively little on pensions compared to European countries. However, this essay believes working hard does not always equate to earning enough money to retire. Authorities should provide people with financial assistance during retirement because it helps all individuals equally. This is because, while some have opportunities for a good education and lucrative jobs due to their family's wealth, the majority of people are poorer and have to struggle to make enough money to survive through their lives no matter how many hours of hard work they engage in, meaning they rely on a pension later in life. For example, in the UK, due to the rising cost of living, the majority of the population have no money to save for retirement, so the retirees receiving financial aid helps everyone in a similar way. In conclusion, despite the public providing for their own retirement promoting the creation of a culture of hard work, I think governments providing their citizens with pensions treats everyone in the community equally.