Some people think it is more important to provide parks and sports facilities than to provide shopping centers in these new town for people to spend their free time. To what extent doo you agree or disagree?

People living in new cities have divergent opinions regarding places of entertainment. While some prefer going to shopping malls and large centres others request more playgrounds and areas for sports. In my opinion, I believe that open areas like parks should be a priority when establishing a new city. Open green areas and sports facilities provide many advantages to the individuals and the community. Children can have a safe and secure place to play and explore the nature around them. Moreover, parents can also practice hobbies such as running or cycling. These places also have an indirect impact on health as more people are encouraged to be more physically active and practice sports. Moreover, parks are considered a suitable place for gathering family and friends, and an opportunity to meet other residents in town and make new connections. At a larger scale, parks and green areas play a major role in minimizing the risk of air pollution and carbon emission which provide a healthy and safe environment for raising children. Additionally, trees and parks increase the beauty of the city and make it an attractive option for residents and visitors. On the other hand, shopping malls and coffee shops can be considered as a sign of a modern city and attract many people. They provide an option that includes both entertainment and shopping. However, building a new shopping mall requires a large surface area and with time this will overtake the green areas. Furthermore, shopping centres contribute negatively to the environment. In conclusion, parks and sports facilities provide a more healthy environment compared to shopping centres. The government should invest more in creating more green and open areas for children.