The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Despite countless researches from top universities and health advocates on the dangers of smoking, the percentages of smokers in the world have not reduced to an acceptable level. Hospital records show that the death associated with smoking increases year by year. Yet, many people still continue with this habit. This essay will discuss the cause of this phenomenon and how can we reduce smoking in society. The main factor that is causing this is the chemical in the cigarette. Nicotine is known to be addictive, and smokers find it hard to fight the urge to smoke. Moreover, the tobacco industries continue to lobby the government to ensure that their products can be displayed on the shelves, and this has caused a breed of new smokers to come into the picture. Thus, the cycle continues, where new smokers are created every day, and the nicotine is preventing them to quit. However, the government and society can help to break the cycle. As an example, in Malaysia, smoking is banned in public places, such as restaurants, stadiums, and cinemas. This helps in creating a better air quality, and reducing complications from second -hand smokers. To reduce the instance of them buying a new pack of cigarettes, the government has instructed each box to include pictures of diseases from smoking. In addition, an age restriction and additional 'sin-tax' are introduced to avoid youngsters from purchasing cigarettes. To summarise, by understanding the cause and how we can reduce the instance of smoking, the government and society can work together to minimise the ill effect of smoking. Constant communication from all levels, starting in schools, universities, and up to workplaces are needed to ensure people are aware of the dangers, and only then, we will be able to make a lasting impact.