In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Many believe having a home is essential while others think renting one is feasible too. My point of view is that this ideology is mainly due to cultural and family influences and the negative impacts of it outweigh the positive impacts. To start with, in Asia, especially Chinese societies, the majority of them would be pleasant to own their home at all costs. Hong Kong is a robust example of this scenario, we are said to be a cosmopolitan city and yet, the ideology of “renting a house equals to repaying the mortgage for the owner” has been rooted in our minds. Despite the soaring flat price which makes it impossible for young couples to buy their own flat, parents are always more than willing to give or borrow them the capital needed to achieve the goal. As a result, this vigorous cycle loops all over again since Chinese tradition values “having a shelter”. It is clear that when getting a flat is all one’s concern, they will be under gigantic pressure and this is detrimental to a person’s or the society’s health and development. For example, it is not uncommon to hear the Japanese saying they are repaying the mortgage that their grandparents or parents borrowed. Meanwhile, Japan’s suicide rate is always maintained at a high level and researches reveal the reasons behind include not being happy at work and feel financially stressed, to list just a few. We are all born to be free and ambitious. Buying a flat, however, create an indescribable burden to people who are suffering from the absurd home price that limits the possibilities that we are supposed to be able to explore. Some may believe that having their own place can keep people motivated and determined at work or make a big fortune. Nonetheless, I doubt if all people will be delighted once they own the house. Maybe starting up business brings more joy to them? Maybe owning a dream car is more satisfying than owning a house? To me, affording a flat is killing all these opportunities. To conclude, I find culture does most of the influences of the belief that owning is better than renting and this is creating too much burden, either finally or mentally, to oneself.