With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The development of technology has brought us to a new era where we gradually switch the way we read a book from papers to the digital version. Some people say it is a great movement while others believe that old-fashioned reading is irreplaceable. This essay will explore the pros and cons of both sides and demonstrate why those ideas are valid. Regarding disadvantages, the main drawback of the rising number of e-books is that it increases the number of people who suffer from short-sighted diseases. It is undeniable that finishing a book takes many hours to devote, and doing it through electronic screens like laptops or iPad will damage our eyes. Additionally, those gadgets require strong energy from the battery. As a result, if the devices are running out of battery and the power source is not available, there will be no way the reader can access the electronic books. Despite all the disadvantages of e-readers, I believe that the benefits are more significant to address. Firstly, the digital book will save the planet by reducing carbon footprints. While more than 30 million trees are cut down every year to produce textbooks, reading digital articles will dramatically reduce deforestation because it does not require any piece of paper. Secondly, e-books are portable and lightweight, allowing us to save countless files on a device. It is also evident that electronic books are easy to use due to a click on the screen will provide many features such as highlighting, making notes, and translating words. On the other hand, handbooks are bulky and heavy to carry around, taking so much effort for us to bring them everywhere. In conclusion, while e-books have several disadvantages, its benefits undoubtedly matter to the environment and deliver lots of convenience in life. Thus, I think people should leave the old habit of reading, from a printed book to the digital ones.