More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

The vast majority of students from various countries opine to select foreign higher educational centres for their higher education. Although there may be negative effects on this development like separation from the family and high cost, it will give more positive outcomes like exposure to new technology and a chance to explore the world. hence, this writer wishes to opine the benefits of studying in a foreign country are more than its drawbacks. To begin with the negative impacts, separation from the family could lead to depression among these students and unfortunately, it can affect their academic performance as well. At the same time due to the high cost that the students have to pay for these higher education centres, they are likely to have a very harsh life in these foreign soils. For instance, according to research conducted by Oxford University, they have found that 95% of foreign students work while they are studying compare to their own students who are working only 15%. However, people will gain benefits like exposure to the newest technology and science and experiencing the latest education systems and many more. Furthermore, they will have the luxury of enjoying the weather, nature and culture of a foreign nation at the same time. For,example according to a recent survey conducted by the Sunday Times magazine in Sri Lanka, 99% of students who went to foreign universities for their higher education are happy about their education and life in a foreign land. In conclusion, although there are some negative impacts like high cost and separation from the family, higher education from a foreign national becomes a fashion in students due to its benefits like the quality of the educational system and chance to explore a foreign land. Since then, this writer is in complete agreement with the notion, the benefits of foreign education will be far more than its drawbacks.