To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

To live a healthy life, food has a major role in human life. In some countries due to the surge in population people has limited option for food. Insects are one of the important sources for those countries. Although, few people believe that eating insects are neither healthy nor good for the environment. In order to this issue I will discuss both the positive and negative points in my forthcoming essay. Firstly, some of the countries are not lucky enough to grow a variety of foods for their country. If the population is more than the production of crops, it is tough for the country to meet the demands of their people. For instance, China's biggest population depends on insects and animals. Though, few insects are high in protein they can be healthy for humans. One of the popular insects is the grasshopper which is increasingly eaten by people who has got less food in their area. Thus it gives benefit to combat Kwashiorkor disease which occurs in children due to their poor diet. On the other hand, other animals like bigger insects rely on small insects. In the environment hierarchy if the amount of insects becomes lesser then it will affect other animals as well. Hence it is not good for the environment as a particular species of insect when become plunged could affect the overall population of other animals as well. Thus balance should be necessary. To conclude, it is our responsibility how to make a balance between our own necessity and environmental situation.