A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Presently, social appearance and property ownership are becoming pride in society, regardless of moral existence, like credibility, respect, and favor. I am not sure, but I think that the value of life is more crucial than social standing. Firstly, nowadays, human lifestyles have changed the culture of how we give respect to others, which has the consequence of toxic relationships. In modern society, people who have a high level of social status and property ownership tend to receive more respect from others. For instance, in my neighborhood, I discovered that the way people behave others is determined by their social status. People who are poor in social standing will accept less respect than those who have a high level of social status. As a consequence, people tend to compete with each other, becoming increasingly egoistic. Hence, I strongly disagree when someone is valued by others because of their social status and property ownership. Secondly, I believe that we will make life easier when we value someone based on their credibility, how they give respect to others, and how favorably they are. If we could apply this thought in our daily life, we could create a positive environment and healthy relationships in our society. Therefore, I believe that respecting people by their values is the best way to appreciate the existence of others. In conclusion, I think that when we are in society, we should not be apathetic in our moral existence, like credibility, respect, and favor, because it is way better than just focusing on social status and property ownership.