Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource, while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Knowing that water is finite, many defend that the government should be responsible for regulating its utilization, while others disagree. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument, and then I will give my opinion, which is in favor of the government regulating water usage. There are a few reasons for some to not believe that laws and bureaucracy would solve this issue. As governments sometimes are very corrupt and without watching and punishing, people also may not follow the rules, the process could become expensive to implement, but inefficient. For example, many people end up bribing the police when they are caught breaking the law. Besides, as technology has been advancing in this field, there are many new methods to purify water, such as machines to desalinate seawater or purify sewage. Thus, the government could invest more in those new methods. Nevertheless, others feel that it should be the government's responsibility to regulate water and make it accessible to all. One reason is that a huge amount of potable water is wasted in futile activities, because people seem to not be aware of the importance of this resource. For instance, not only new laws and fines should be implemented, but also awareness campaigns so that the population does not wash the sidewalks. In addition, many places are already suffering from a lack of water and strategic governments and companies are investing billions in water reserves. For example, China bought many water reserves as they know that its value will increase in a near future. In conclusion, I believe both sides have merits. On balance, it is my opinion that the more people use it intelligently, the more it will be available for future generations. Therefore, it is the government's responsibility to raise awareness of the importance and control how and how much people are using it, aiming at the reduction of waste.