Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop childrens’ life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of children has been discussed and there are some disagreements over whether life skills are more developed when doing something more active or just reading. I strongly believe that the merits of active activities far outweigh the ones of reading. One of the main advantages of functional activities is to allow to better solve problems, communicate and work in groups, which are essential to companies nowadays. For example, when trying to fix something with the family, like a boat, it is necessary to think, share ideas, make an effort and help each other to get to a positive result, which is exactly what companies are looking for when hiring someone. Another key benefit is the increase in mental and body health. Exercising the body and the mind can bring countless positive consequences and even increase happiness. For instance, it is proved that sports can avoid diseases, increase well-being and improve focus. Besides, other activities related to arts, such as drawing, allow creativity improvement and stress reduction, allowing the discovery of new talents as well. Nevertheless, there are also advantages of reading, one of which is the huge amount of content and knowledge available. However, the focus could be more on understanding, such as having critical thinking, applying all this information and discussing what was read, than only spending hours reading a huge amount of information passively. Furthermore, there are videos and other types of materials to learn about new topics. In conclusion, by children becoming more active, some advantages can be the improvement of problem-solving, communication and interpersonal skills, in addition to a healthier mind and body. Although reading still is important, there is a trend to have a more active posture and use other forms of media to learn. Therefore, in my opinion, the sooner children are exposed to real-life situations, the better they get at dealing with it.