In some countries, the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation and discourages private vehicle ownership. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation

The public transportation system is preferred as a first choice of commuting and the public is motivated not to use their private cars by the government. The beneficial points of this approach are helping the environment and affordable fair. However, this may have some drawbacks including timetables and lack of space due to over-crowded. Using public transportation such as cars, could be eco-friendly. If The majority of people tend to use them instead of their own cars, air pollution may increase dramatically due to fewer vehicles. In addition, in developed countries, like the UK, several vehicles are designed to not only use less fuel but also sometimes they need another healthy source of energy such as electricity. Moreover, it is noteworthy that public vehicles compared to private cars would be cheaper since passengers are not responsible for any problem related to buses or trains. They just pay a small amount of money as a fair. However, If private cars were broken down, their owners would spend money to fix them. Also, these cars need fuel, engine oil and other costly side expenses. On the other hand, undoubtedly, public transportation would have some negative points. The timetable of buses, for example, may not be suitable for a large number of individuals. As a result, they could not use them and prefer using their own cars. Furthermore, in some populated countries, such as India, Public transportation may be utterly crowded. Nevertheless, using trains or buses can be difficult and most of the time, there are not any empty seats for exhausted passengers. This means using private cars in order to have privacy. In conclusion, in some countries authorities put effort into incentive people to use public transportation instead of their own cars, this approach may have positive points like being more environmentally friendly and also cheaper than private vehicles. However, negative points, unsuitable timetables and being over-crowded can be mentioned.