Despite huge improvements in healthcare, the overall standard of physical health in many developed countries is now falling. What could be the reason for this trend, and what can be dome to reverse it?

Although medical skills have improved, a significant number of people suffer from health problems in rich countries. This essay will outline the potential reasons why their health has declined and suggest potential solutions. First of all, due to the convenient technology in contemporary society in developed countries, the majority of people have sedentary lifestyles. Not only can convenient devices bring about working at their desks all day, but transportation easily approached may also contribute to a lack of exercise. Secondly, as people earn more incomes in rich countries, they afford various food along with sugary desserts. For example, recent medical research in Korea has revealed that the 20% of the main reasons for obesity in developed countries are sedentary lifestyles and the consumption of unhealthy food. As the example clearly illustrates, consumption of high sugary food along with a lack of exercise brings about obesity, thereby leading to other major physical health issues such as heart diseases and type 2 diabetes. It is not all doom and gloom as there are solutions to address them. As people have more money in developed countries, not only they can afford exercises such as yoga classes and a gym, but they also can buy healthy ingredients. For example, a survey conducted by Seoul Hospital has revealed that as the majority of Koreans participate in exercise classes and eat a healthy Korean traditional diet, the obesity rate is less than half as much as people in western developed countries. Therefore, exercise and eating a healthy diet are the key factor in maintaining healthy lifestyles in developed countries. In conclusion, although people have sedentary lifestyles with the consumption of high sugary food which causes obesity, they can handle this issue with exercise and a healthy diet.