Some people believe that the rage of technology available to individuals today is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people, while others say that technology has the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Technology is deeply relative to the living of human beings in contemporary society. Regarding this, opinions are divided over whether or not technology increases the gap between the rich and the poor. There are certain reasons why they support either side. ​ On the one hand, some people argue that only wealthy people can enjoy technology as electronic devices which facilitate using the Internet are extremely expensive. As the poor suffer from poverty, they have to buy food and medicine rather than electronic devices. For example, since a significant number of schools have decided to use electronic books for a class instead of physical textbooks, many poor students couldn’t see books due to the absence of devices such as a laptop, an iPad, and a smartphone. Therefore, because not everyone can gain the devices for using technology, the gap between the poor and the rich will increase. On the other hand, others assert that technology is a key factor in reducing the gap between rich people and poor people as information is justifiably provided to everyone. Not only can information be provided for free to all people regardless the financial condition, it may also bring about a chance to obtain money. For instance, a survey conducted by the Korea Financial Foundation has revealed that almost 30% of people who earned an excessive amount of money from a stock market studied with the Internet. As the example clearly illustrates, technology is an efficient means to reduce the gap between the rich and the poor. ​ In conclusion, while I accept that electronic devices are expensive, I point out that people can borrow one at a library for free. There is no doubt that information with cutting-edge technology is the most significant factor to decrease the financial gap.