Experts say that walking is one of the best ways to maintain good health. however, nowadays people spend less time walking. What's the reason for this? What can be done to encourage people to spend more time walking?

It is scientifically proven that everyday strolling significantly improves one's overall health condition, however, in recent years, people tend to walk less and less. This happens due to several reasons one of them being the abundance of available transportation and another is a passive lifestyle. However, mass promotion of a healthy lifestyle, accessibility and improvement of public walking areas can greatly encourage people to walk more. The first reason why people aren't walking as much as they used to is the development of technologies and the growth of economies that provided public transportation and private cars that became affordable and widely popular. Whenever a person needs to be somewhere they opt for transportation to get there rather than walking because they benefit precious time we value so much, besides, a ride in an air-conditioned car seems way more comfortable in the comparison with walking outside in the heat or sometimes rain or snow. Secondly, a lot of people merely have no reason to go outside, for instance, nowadays many companies allow their employees to work from home, also watching TV and spending time scrolling social media is tempting leisure for many. Nevertheless, government programs promoting a healthy lifestyle and securing more places for outside activities can boost one's desire to spend more time walking. For example, in Colombia, a city office has launched a program aimed to increase the city's canopy cover and consequently reduce heat in walking alleys making it more enjoyable to walk outside. A study has shown that this approach was effective as many people emerged to the alleys spending more time walking with their families. To summarize, despite scaling down of time spent walking, by the temptation to use various means of commute, people can be enticed to walk more by creating attractive places for walks.