The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern life, the development and growth of convenient food have become an inseparable part of today's life which helps in meeting the fast pace of modern lifestyle. In my perspective, I believe that the cons outweigh the pros. On one hand, the reason why pre-made meals are popular is that they don't have time limitations. For instance, workers in Hong Kong always have to work overtime. They can easily order the food of their choice due to its 24/7 availability. Similarly, another advantage it offers is the ease with which some of these can be prepared. One does not require expert cooking skills to cook it. Most of these, like noodles and soups, simply require boiling in hot water with some additives given with the package to get it ready. There is no need for people to spend too much time on it. Therefore, convenient food is popular among the public as it suits the high living pace of modern people. On the other hand, the health hazards of such a diet are extremely dangerous for those who consume it routinely. Firstly, the preserved food has very poor nutritional value as most of the essential vitamins and minerals would be denatured and lost during the preservation process. Secondly, the preservatives added to such foods are proven carcinogens and have been implicated in the rise in the frequency of various cancers in humans. For example, luncheon meats are found rich in fat and salt. Excessive eating will contribute significantly to the rise in the risk of obesity, diabetes and ischaemic heart disease. In conclusion, it is doubtless that convenient food really suits our lifestyle. However, I believe the cons outweigh the pros as it imposed hidden threats to our health.