Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years it's been a topic of discussion whether teaching literature is helpful for students or not, Some argue that it is a waste of time while others believe that studying it is important. In this, essay I will be discussing why i totally agree with the second opinion. To begin with, Individuals who opine that studying literature is just a waste of time base their argument on the fact that literacy does not have a tangible benefit to pupils such as learning math, science and computer skills. They believe that focusing on these subjects will provide better opportunities for students to achieve academic success and a bright future. Moreover, many think of reading novels as an enjoyable activity and students could do it in their free time as a pastime activity. However, we can not ignore the fact that cultures are made of stories, myths and legends. If students are to understand and participate in the culture that they belong to they must learn and read about it. Furthermore, it will expand their horizon because they will be subjected to different cultural backgrounds. Moreover, it will build up their vocabulary and improve their writing skills. And most importantly reading enhance their critical thinking and allows them to have their own opinion and perspective. A recent study that was conducted in the UK showed that students who read novels outside the school curriculum have better academic achievement than others who do not. This is indeed evidence of the importance of teaching literature. In conclusion, literature enables the student to obtain a variety of key skills such as spelling, writing and also brooding their horizons and making them more acceptable to different cultures.