In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In present-day society, earning potential has increased in a lot of countries and it is highly significant for a country’s economy. While some people concur with this, meanwhile others carry the opinion that government should intervene and keep a check on the salaries and curb it whenever necessary. In this essay, I will explore both views and provide reasons for my perception. To begin with, high paying jobs always aid in maintaining a good standard of living, particularly in the case of first world countries. To give a clear example, the living expenses of developed and technologically advanced countries, namely The United States of America, South Korea, Canada etc is paramount and to keep pace with it, one has to earn well and not just enough. Moreover, the downside to it is that an employee might not get an early retirement as they have to keep up with the lifestyle. Also, when the capacity to earn money increases, it automatically adds up to a nation’s economy. Conversely, if only certain sections of the society tend to accumulate more wealth, then it will lead to disparity in income. As a result, the gap between the rich and the poor will widen. Consequently, to achieve a wealthy position, the destitute might resort to harmful means. To exemplify, crimes will increase such as robbery, murder, kidnapping etc. Secondly, this imbalance in the earning potential would create a negative atmosphere. To give a clear example, there will be excessive competition amongst people which will lead to unnecessary stress and anxiety. Furthermore, rather than being grateful for the resources one already has, it will always seem that the grass is greener on the other side. Therefore, stringent rules and intervention by the ruling party can be helpful in such circumstances. To sum up, bringing equality in income and giving benefits like providing various kinds of allowances, such as fewer work hours, the delegation of tasks, extra holidays to high positioned officers will aid in mitigating the distance between the rich and the poor. This can only be possible with strict majors taken by the government, by limiting the salaries when needed. Overall, this will ensure that everybody is treated equally.